25-year industry veteran recognized for overall advancement of the power industry

October 04, 2016 09:00 AM Eastern Daylight Time
EnerNex, an electric power research, engineering and consulting firm, announces Co-founder and Executive Vice President Robert Zavadil has received the 2016 Wayne E. Knabach Award for Excellence in Power.

Zavadil has worked on electric power system issues for wind generation for over 25 years. As a co-founder of EnerNex, Zavadil is responsible for developing and overseeing the company’s power system engineering consulting business.

EnerNex CEO Jeff Lamoree states: “Having worked with him for over 20 years, I’ve seen the significant impact his work has had, and continues to have, on the power community and I commend him for this achievement. In working alongside countless wind turbine designers and manufacturers, project developers and operators and transmission service providers, Bob has made a mark on the evolution of power system planning, design and operation.”

Zavadil is a member of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES), Power Electronics, and Industrial Applications Societies, and serves as Vice-Chair of the IEEE PES Wind and Solar Power Coordinating Committee. He also chairs the Modeling and Interconnection Study User Group for the Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group.

The award is given annually to an individual or a company that contributes to the advancement of the power industry and/or to the South Dakota State University’s Center for Power Systems Studies (CPSS). Selection of the award winner is based upon the dedication, expertise, and outstanding efforts of the individual or company and the candidate’s promotion of the importance of the power engineering profession and the people practicing in it.

“Bob Zavadil, a 1982 graduate from our electrical engineering program at SDSU, exemplifies the type of individual worthy of such a recognition,” says Steve Hietpas, Coordinator of the CPSS. Selection for the recipient of this prestigious award is made by members of the CPSS, comprised of 11 major utility companies and 17 associate members.

The award was presented on October 3rd at the 2016 CPSS South Dakota Regional Power Conference and Awards Banquet at South Dakota State University. Zavadil also presented as part of the agenda on “Integrating Renewable Energy: Past, Present, and Future.”